Walking in my ancestors’ footsteps

Those who know me well will also know that researching my family history is one of my passions. I’ve been doing it for many years but only seriously for about 15.
It’s always fun to find new names to add to my multi-branched family tree but the really interesting thing is to go to the places where the people lived and to try to imagine what their lives were really like.

I’ve spent many hours visiting churches or villages and also trying to find the houses where my ancestors once lived. Rich or poor it is always fascinating.

Last weekend I went on a mini voyage of discovery. I persuaded a friend to come along to keep me company and we set off to Lincolnshire to visit two of my grander ancestral homes. It was a long drive but well worth the journey.

Having travelled up on Friday we stayed the night in a B & B then spent Saturday enjoying a Living History event at Tattershall Castle.

Then on Sunday we visited Old Hall Gainsborough…once home of the Hickman family.

 

Leave a Reply

